Physician-specialists in radiotherapy-oncology

These doctors are in charge of proton therapy treatments and patient follow-up during and after treatment, for example regarding the effect of therapy and possible side effects.

Medical radiation physicists

The medical radiation physicists and their assistants are responsible for preparing the treatment plan and its peer review. They check the quality and physical effect of the treatment plan as well as the quality of the proton therapy device itself on a daily basis. During the CT-simulation and the proton therapy treatment, they have an assisting role. Medical radiation physicists continuously research new techniques to implement them.

prof. ir. Tom Depuydt

Head radiation physicist

Antoine Delor

Medical radiation physicist

Robin De Roover

Medical radiation physicist

An Nulens

Medical radiation physicist

Kenneth Poels

Medical radiation physicist

Susana Santos Lopes

Assistant medical radiation physicist, planning coordinator

Anneleen Goedgebeur

Medical radiation physicist

Sima Qamhiyeh

Medical radiation physicist

Françoise Vanneste

Head of medical radiation physics at CU Saint-Luc

Nurses and medical imaging technologists

The nurses and medical imaging technologists are responsible for making the radiation mask and other immobilisation material. They are the ones who perform the CT-simulation as well as the positioning, imaging and radiation during sessions. In addition, they are responsible for wound care.

Katleen Luyten

Head nurse

Ingrid Dejaegher

Deputy head nurse

Chris Bijnens


Cindy Vanfroyenhoven


Dylan Callens

Medical imaging technician

Hanne Sels


Isabelle D'heygere

Medical imaging technician

Jolien Claes

Medical imaging technician

Loreen Raymaekers

Medical imaging technician

Rob De Haes

Medical imaging technician

Stien Vandervorst

Medical imaging technician

Tom Wins


Administrative and support staff

This team provides day-to-day administrative and organisational support. Some of them are also in charge of quality and data management and IT support.

Jan Verstraete

Quality coordinator

Chahrazad Benazzouz

Quality officer

Inge De Wit

Data manager

Tim Van Deyck

IT coordinator

Bram Mangelschots


Barbara Celis

Central Appointment Planning (CAP)

Margaux Hernandez Ruiz

Secretariat radiotherapy

Sofie Isebaert

General coordinator

Research team

An interuniversity and multidisciplinary research team working within the field of proton therapy and associated with PARTICLE.

Daisne Jean-François, prof. dr.

Medical head of department

De Meerleer Gert, prof. dr.

Member of staff

Geets Xavier, prof. dr.

Physician - Clinical employee

Haustermans Karin, prof. dr.

Member of staff

Lambrecht Maarten, prof. dr.

Member of staff

Nuyts Sandra, prof. dr.

Member of staff

Niki Bergans, prof.

Prevention and environment, radioprotection specialisation

Wouter Crijns, prof.

Medical radiation physicist

Edmond Sterpin, prof.

Research professor

prof. ir. Tom Depuydt

Head radiation physicist

Other staff members

PARTICLE is eminently multidisciplinary and works closely with many other departments in the hospital:

  • social work
  • paediatric
  • oncology
  • anaesthesiology
  • radiology
  • radioprotection
  • technical services
  • ...
Last edit: 7 September 2023